Magic cities in Mexico. There are 132 cities in Mexico declared by the Mexican government as Pueblos Mágicos. These cities have been selected for their “magical” qualities including history, beauty, culture. Magic cities therefore must meet and maintain certain qualities to attract and please tourists. The inhabitants and workers (store keepers, restaurant staff, hotel owners) are extremely proud of their designation as a Magic City and display emblems and other artifacts publicizing this. Each city has at least one city name structure like the ones below.

In the main city square of Ajijic (one of these cities) there are heart shaped structures depicting several of the magic cities. We visited the following Pueblos Mágicos: Tlaquepaque, Tequila, Tapalpa, Comala, Mazamitla, Chapala, and Ajijic.